Cover image for Honestly Ben / Bill Konigsberg.
Title:
Honestly Ben / Bill Konigsberg.
ISBN:
9780545858267
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Arthur A. Levine Books, an imprint of Scholastic Inc., 2017.

©2017
Physical Description:
326 pages ; 22 cm
General Note:
Companion to: Openly straight.
Abstract:
Ben Carver returns for the spring semester at the exclusive Natick School in Massachusetts determined to put his relationship with Rafe Goldberg behind him and concentrate on his grades and the award that will mean a full scholarship--but Rafe is still there, there is a girl named Hannah whom he meets in the library, and behind it all is his relationship with his distant, but demanding father.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library Branch
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1 Bob Harkins Branch KON Book Teen Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

In the companion to Openly Straight, Ben confronts pressure at school, repression at home, and his passion for two very different people!

Ben Carver is back to normal. He's working steadily in his classes at the Natick School. He just got elected captain of the baseball team. He's even won a full scholarship to college, if he can keep up his grades. All that foolishness with Rafe Goldberg the past semester is in the past.

Except...

There's Hannah, the gorgeous girl from the neighboring school, who attracts him and distracts him. There's his mother, whose quiet unhappiness Ben is noticing for the first time. School is harder, the pressure higher, the scholarship almost slipping away. And there's Rafe, funny, kind, dating someone else . . . and maybe the real normal that Ben needs. Perfect for fans of David Levithan, Andrew Smith, and John Green, Honestly Ben is a smart, laughout- loud novel that will speak to anyone who's struggled to be "honestly ____________" in some part of their lives.


Author Notes

Bill Konigsberg is the author of Openly Straight, which won the SCBWI Sid Fleischman Award for Humor and was named to the YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults list; The Porcupine of Truth, which won the Stonewall Book Award and was named a Booklist Editors' Choice selection; and Out of the Pocket, which won the Lambda Literary Award. Bill lives in Chandler, Arizona, with his husband, Chuck. Please visit him online at www.billkonigsberg.com and @billkonigsberg.


Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

Seventeen-year-old Ben Carver is under a lot of pressure. He's having a hard time in calculus, a subject that could torpedo his stellar GPA and ruin his chances at receiving the prestigious Pappas Award, which would look fantastic on his college résumé and provide a needed scholarship. He's also having difficulty with Rafe Goldberg, his gay former friend (with whom he got quite close in Konigsberg's Openly Straight), and might be falling for a girl named Hannah. The trouble is, Ben is in love with Rafe, but he can't accept the idea of being in love with a boy. Ben isn't homophobic, but that doesn't make it any easier for him to see himself-captain of the baseball team, son of a farmer-as gay or even bisexual. Konigsberg again realistically explores what happens when one's self butts up against who the world's expectations and assumptions. Ben refuses to be labeled, and the result is a refreshingly honest exploration of modern relationships and an understanding that love can take many shapes and forms. Ages 14-up. Agent: Linda Epstein, Emerald City Literary. (Mar.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Google Preview