Cover image for The lost legacy / Gwenda Bond & Chistopher Rowe ; illustrated by Glenn Thomas.
Title:
The lost legacy / Gwenda Bond & Chistopher Rowe ; illustrated by Glenn Thomas.
Author:
ISBN:
9780062459947

9780062459954
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, New York : Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2017]

©2017
Physical Description:
vi, 407 pages ; illustrations ; 22 cm
Abstract:
Stephen's father replaces Nana cooking for "supernormals" at an elite New York City hotel, but when a magical family heirloom is stolen, Stephen must quickly figure out his new world and clear his name, with help from new friends
Audience/Reading Level:
Interest age level: 8-12.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
BON Book Junior Collection
Searching...
1
Searching...
BON Paperback Junior Fantasy / Sci-Fi
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

"Monstrous fun!"--Booklist

Three kids. A hotel full of monsters. And a stolen magical artifact that could disrupt the balance between the humans and the supernatural. Welcome to life at Hotel Monster! Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library meets Hotel Transylvania in the first book of this hilarious and spooky new series that blends mystery with monsters.

Stephen's dad has moved their two-person family across the country to New York City, where he is taking over as head chef in an exclusive hotel. A hotel that has the most elite of clientele: monsters (though they prefer to be called supernormals). Surprise! And an even bigger surprise? Stephen is part supernormal himself.

When a magical family heirloom is stolen and Stephen is framed, he must work with two new friends to navigate this whole new world and clear his name. After all, consequences can be dire in the world of monsters.

Spooky, funny, and full of monstrous hijinks, The Lost Legacy is an inventive and accessible mystery-adventure full of friendship and humor--perfect for fans of Pseudonymous Bosch and R. L. Stine's Goosebumps series.


Reviews 1

Horn Book Review

When Stephen's father takes over his grandmother's job as chef at a NYC hotel serving an elite clientele of various "supernormals," Stephen learns he is part-fae. Some of his snooty mythical neighbors aren't exactly thrilled with him, and Stephen must clear his name when an important magical artifact goes missing. This entertaining series-starter's overly familiar premise and themes are nevertheless successfully executed. (c) Copyright 2018. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.