Cover image for The vineyard : a novel / María Dueñas ; translated by Nick Caistor and Lorenza Garcia.
Title:
The vineyard : a novel / María Dueñas ; translated by Nick Caistor and Lorenza Garcia.
ISBN:
9781501124532
Edition:
First Atria Books hardcover edition.
Publication Information:
New York, New York : Atria Books, 2017.

©2017
Physical Description:
534 pages ; 24 cm.
Abstract:
"New York Times bestselling author Maria Duenas returns with The Vineyard, a magnificent story of ambition, heartbreak, and desire set in the 1860s Mexico, Cuba, and Spain--perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kristin Hannah. Mauro Larrea's fortune, the result of years of hardship and toil, comes crashing down on the heels of a calamitous event. Swamped by debt and uncertainty, he gambles the last of his money in a daring play that wins him an abandoned house and a vineyard an ocean away. Mauro travels to Andalusia de Jerez in Spain with every intention of selling the property and returning to Mexico. That is, until he meets the unsettling Soledad Montalvo, the widow of a London wine merchant who bursts into his life unannounced, determined to protect her family's legacy. Before long, Mauro finds himself immersed in the rich culture of the sherry trade. As his feelings for Soledad ripen into a consuming passion, he seeks to restore the vineyard to its former glory, propelling himself toward a future that he never could have imagined. From the turbulent young Mexican republic to flourishing Havana to the fertile vineyards of Jerez in the second half of the nineteenth century, when the wine trade with England transformed the Andalusian city, Maria Duenas' new novel takes place on both sides of the Atlantic, the New World and the Old. This story of family intrigue vividly conjures the noise and grit of silver mines, the sophistication of the Mexican capital, and the earthier lure of ancient vineyards and magnificent cities whose splendor has faded. Here is a story of courage in the face of adversity and of a destiny forever altered by the force of passion"-- Provided by publisher.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
DUE Book Adult General Collection
Searching...
1
Searching...
DUE Book Adult General Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

New York Times bestselling author Maria Dueñas returns with The Vineyard , a magnificent story of ambition, heartbreak, and desire set in the 1860s Mexico, Cuba, and Spain--perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Kristin Hannah.

Mauro Larrea's fortune, the result of years of hardship and toil, comes crashing down on the heels of a calamitous event. Swamped by debt and uncertainty, he gambles the last of his money in a daring play that wins him an abandoned house and a vineyard an ocean away. Mauro travels to Andalusia de Jerez in Spain with every intention of selling the property and returning to Mexico. That is, until he meets the unsettling Soledad Montalvo, the wife of a London wine merchant, who bursts into his life unannounced, determined to protect her family's legacy. Before long, Larrea finds himself immersed in the rich culture of the sherry trade. As his feelings for Soledad ripen into a consuming passion, he seeks to restore the vineyard to its former glory.

From the turbulent young Mexican republic to flourishing Havana, and onward to the fertile vineyards of Jerez in the second half of the nineteenth century, María Dueñas's new novel takes place on both sides of the Atlantic, the New World and the Old. This story of family intrigue vividly conjures the noise and grit of silver mines, and the earthier lure of ancient vineyards and magnificent cities whose splendor has faded. Here is a story of courage in the face of adversity and of a destiny forever altered by the force of passion.


Reviews 1

Library Journal Review

The author of The Heart Has Its Reasons and The Time in Between returns with this sweeping 19th century-set historical. The bold Mauro Larrea has worked his way up from the dire poverty of his early years in Spain by becoming a miner and eventually a mine owner in Mexico. But now he stands to lose his hard-won fortune. Circumstances bring him to a desperate gamble in a wild game of billiards in Havana, Cuba, winning him an abandoned house and vineyard back in Jerez, Spain, where the sherry trade is just starting to thrive. There Mauro meets the beautiful Soledad Montalvo, whose family previously owned the vineyard before misfortune struck. We can see where this story is going, but there are many twists and turns along the way, as well as lots of lively characters, including a few villains, and vivid scenes from Mexico City, Havana, and Jerez. VERDICT This sprawling family saga is filled with romance, intrigue, adventure, and a bit of melodrama. It's a leisurely yet always entertaining read that will appeal to lovers of Isabel Allende's Zorro. [See Prepub Alert, 4/10/17.]-Leslie Patterson, Rehoboth, MA © Copyright 2017. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.