Cover image for What she saw : a novel / Gerard Stembridge.
Title:
What she saw : a novel / Gerard Stembridge.
ISBN:
9780062568984
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : HarperPerennial, [2017]
Physical Description:
293, 11 pages ; 21 cm.
Abstract:
"A taut, stylish thriller set over the course of 24 hours in Paris, for fans of Chris Pavone's THE EXPATS and Olen Steinhauer's THE TOURIST"-- Provided by publisher.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
STE Book Adult General Collection
Searching...
1
Searching...
STE Book Adult General Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A taut, stylish thriller set over the course of twenty-four hours in Paris--perfect for fans of Chris Pavone's The Expats and Olen Steinhauer's The Tourist.

The storied Hotel Chevalier on Paris' ritzy Right Bank hosts celebrities, dignitaries, and--for one night--Lana Gibson, an American woman who's escaped the monotony of her staid married life for a cultural jaunt to the City of Light. As long as she takes her meds, she promises herself, her heightened curiosity and manic elation will stay under control.



But when that curiosity leads her to the hotel's private elevator which serves only the ultra-elite penthouse Suite Imperial, she spies much more than plush carpets and gilt chandeliers: a young woman caught in the clutches of a threatening-looking older man. Unable to erase the image of the girl in danger from her mind, Lana alerts the police, plunging herself into a firestorm of intrigue and becoming a target.



As she engages in a cat-and-mouse game that plays out across the streets of Paris, it emerges that the older man is a prominent public figure, and the murky situation only offers more questions: Is he being set up? Who stands to gain the most from his downfall? Not knowing who has her best interests at heart, Lana will need to use every ounce of strength and guile as she races to discover the relationship between the truth and what she saw.



Set against the glittering city of Paris, What She Saw is a hypnotic, thoroughly compelling thriller that will leave readers guessing until the final pages.


Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

Irish author Stembridge (The Effect of Her) provides a satisfyingly twisty 24-hour thrill ride through the heart of contemporary Paris. Lana Gibson, an American living in Dublin, decides on a whim to fly to Paris, where she intends to see an art exhibition and not think too hard about an old lover living in the city. At the posh Hotel Le Chevalier, she talks to a beautiful woman in the bar. An hour later, the impulsive Lana slips into the hotel's private elevator, which she knows goes up to a private suite. When the elevator doors open, she spots the woman from the bar resisting the advances of a naked older man. Lana takes photos with her cell phone before the doors close. The man turns out to be Jean-Luc Fournier, an important French politician, and Lana soon finds herself in big trouble. The secondary viewpoint of a frustrated small player in Fournier's organization adds complexity and raises the tension. Agent: Gráinne Fox, Fletcher & Company. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.