Cover image for Metamorphosis / Jack Whyte
Metamorphosis / Jack Whyte
Publication Information:
Toronto : Penguin Group 2018

Physical Description:
451 pages : map ; 21 cm.


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
WHY Book Adult General Collection

On Order



Born of the chaos of the Dark Ages, the Dream of Eagles produced a king, a country and an everlasting legend--Camelot

In The Sorcerer: Metamorphosis , Merlyn returns to Camulod with his young charge, Arthur. But there is little time to enjoy their homecoming. Peter Ironhair's ambitions are once again threatening peace in Britain, and soon Merlyn and Arthur must ride into battle to defend their land from both Ironhair and invaders from across the sea. While Arthur is a soldier, he is not yet a leader of men. Merlyn sends him to live for a time among his father's people to gain the wisdom essential to rule them. Spurred on by a hunger for vengeance that will only be satisfied by the death of his enemies, Merlyn begins his metamorphosis into the Sorcerer, enlisting perhaps the only force that can bring down Ironhair and his allies once and for all.

Author Notes

Writer Jack Whyte was born in Scotland in 1940. He was raised in Scotland, but educated in England and France before migrating to Canada in 1967. He spent one year teaching English in high school, before focusing on a career as a professional singer, musician, and actor. He wrote, directed and appeared in a one man show about Scotland's national poet Robert Burns in the early 1970's. Due to the show's success, he started writing for CBC national television and eventually went into advertising. He is the author of The Camulod Chronicles or A Dream of Eagles series which sets the tales of King Arthur in Roman Britain and Templar Trilogy which deals with the rise and fall of the Order of the Knights of the Temple of Solomon.

(Bowker Author Biography)