Cover image for Butternut Lake novel. 06 : The secrets we carried / Mary McNear.
Title:
Butternut Lake novel. 06 : The secrets we carried / Mary McNear.
Author:
Title Variants:
Secrets we carried
ISBN:
9780062846105
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]
Physical Description:
341, 11 pages ; 24 cm.
General Note:
"P.S. insights, interviews & more..."--Jacket.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
MCN Book Adult General Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Readers who love Susan Wiggs and Susan Mallery will adore New York Times bestselling author Mary McNear newest novel. A young woman travels home to Butternut Lake, confronting her past and the tragedy she and her friends have silently carried with them for over a decade while also facing an unknown future.

Butternut Lake is an idyllic place--but for one woman, her return to the lake town she once called home is bittersweet...

Sometimes life changes in an instant.

Quinn LaPointe grew up on beautiful Butternut Lake, safe, secure, sure of her future. But after a high school tragedy, she left for college and never looked back. Becoming a successful writer in Chicago, she worked to keep out the dark memories of an accident that upended her life. But now, after ten years, she's finally returned home.

Butternut is the same, and yet everything is changed. Gabriel Shipp, once her very best friend, doesn't want anything to do with her. The charming guy she remembers is now brooding and withdrawn. Tanner Lightman, the seductive brother of her late boyfriend, wants her to stick around. Annika Bergstrom, an old classmate who once hated Quinn, is now friendly. Everyone, it seems, has a secret.

Determined to come to terms with the tragedy and rebuild old relationships, Quinn settles into Loon Bay Cabins, a rustic but cozy lakeside resort, where she begins writing down her memories of the year before the accident. Her journey though the past leads her to some surprising discoveries about the present. As secrets are revealed and a new love emerges, Quinn finds that understanding the past is the key to the future.


Reviews 1

Library Journal Review

At 28, journalist Quinn LaPointe returns to her hometown of Butternut, MN. After the accident in the spring of her senior year that killed her boyfriend Jake Lightman and two other seniors, Quinn fled the town, with no plans to return. When she receives an anonymous note about the memorial dedication for the three young men, she returns to try to deal with her feelings about the deaths. She discovers that some townspeople have never recovered from the drownings. One mother wants to blame everyone else. Quinn's best friend Gabriel blames himself. Jake's older brother, Tanner, returns monthly, taking responsibility for those his brother left behind. Quinn copes with her emotions by writing and questioning others, activities that finally bring her peace and resolution. VERDICT McNear's (The Light in Summer) latest is a reflective story featuring haunted people. The sympathetic characters, stuck in the past, may appeal to new adults. While the ending seems abrupt and pat, the novel is for readers of McNear's "Butternut Lake" novels, all stand-alones featuring the same atmospheric small-town.-Lesa Holstine, Evansville Vanderburgh P.L., IN © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.