Cover image for Freefall : a novel / Jessica Barry.
Title:
Freefall : a novel / Jessica Barry.
Title Variants:
Free fall
ISBN:
9780062874832
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, N.Y. : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2019.
Physical Description:
348 pages ; 24 cm.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
BAR Book Adult General Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A MOST ANTICIPATED BOOK OF 2019:

Entertainment Weekly | USA Today | Parade | Cosmopolitan | New York Post | PopSugar | Goodreads

"Jessica Barry's Freefall is not only an enthralling, impossible-to-put down mystery that keeps the pages flying, but it is also a gorgeous, resonant tale of a mother's unconditional love for her daughter. I could not recommend this more!"

-- Aimee Molloy, New York Times bestselling author of The Perfect Mother

"An absorbing treat." - PEOPLE Magazine

"The corporate malfeasance and shady conspiracies of John Grisham, with the frank feminism of two rounded female protagonists." -- Entertainment Weekly

They say your daughter is dead.

You know they're wrong.

When her fiancé's private plane crashes in the Colorado Rockies, everyone assumes Allison Carpenter is dead.

But Maggie, Allison's mother back home in Owl Creek, Maine, refuses to believe them. Maggie knows her daughter - or she used to, anyway. For the past two years, the two women have been estranged, and while Maggie doesn't know anything about Ally's life now - not even why she was on a private plane to begin with - she still believes in her girl's strength, and in their love for each other.

As Allison struggles across the treacherous mountain wilderness, Maggie embarks on a desperate search for answers about the world Allison has been involved in. What was she running from? And can Maggie uncover the truth in time to save her?

Told from the perspectives of a mother and daughter separated by distance but united by an unbreakable bond, Freefall is a heart-stopping, propulsive thriller about two tenacious women overcoming unimaginable obstacles to protect themselves and the ones they love.


Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

In the pseudonymous Barry's uneven debut, Maggie Carpenter, who lives in Owl Creek, Maine, is alarmed to learn from the news that her estranged daughter, Allison, has gone missing following the crash of a private plane in the Colorado Rockies. Media identify the pilot as Allison's fiancAc, Ben Gardner, the CEO of a major pharmaceutical company, though Maggie hadn't even known her daughter was engaged. Everyone insists that Allison is dead, but Maggie becomes obsessed with retracing her daughter's steps from the last two years. Soon, everything Maggie thought she knew about her daughter falls away, and she discovers a world of money, power, and deception that implicates everyone from the FDA to those closer to home. Meanwhile, Allison, who somehow survived the plane crash, battles hunger, exhaustion, and injury in the Colorado wilderness. Barry's meditations on mother-daughter relationships and female roles add much-needed dimension to an otherwise shallow plot full of predictable twists and surface-level emotion. Still, this psychological thriller is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Claire Mackintosh. Agent: Alexandra Machinist, ICM. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

DEBUT Maggie Carpenter is informed that the daughter she lost touch with two years ago has died in a private plane crash in Colorado. Though every friend, police officer, and official tells her that Allison's death was an accident, Maggie can't let go of the hunch that there's more to it. For one, who is this fiancé of Allison's killed along with her? How did Allison go from living paycheck to paycheck, wanting nothing more than to save the world, to being an accessory hanging off a rich man's arm? It turns out her mother's intuition is correct. Allison has survived the crash and is fighting her way to freedom, but someone is tailing her through the mountains-someone who wants her dead. Short chapters switch between mother and daughter, from Maggie using her retired librarian skills to research Allison, her fiancé, and the pharmaceutical company he owned, to Allison desperately trying to escape, sometimes hallucinating, and reliving past memories. VERDICT Pseudonymous author Barry spins a great tale using familiar tropes but adding a surprising amount of heart to the mystery showing the fierce bond between mother and daughter. [See Prepub Alert, 7/2/18.]-Brooke Bolton, Boonville-Warrick Cty. P.L., IN © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.