Cover image for A justified murder / Jude Deveraux.
A justified murder / Jude Deveraux.
Publication Information:
Toronto, Ontario : Mira, 2019.

Physical Description:
330 pages ; 24 cm
Geographic Term:


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
DEV Book Adult General Collection
DEV Book Adult General Collection

On Order



New York Times bestselling romance author Jude Deveraux continues her breakout Medlar Mystery series with a twisted tale of guilt and revenge...

The small town of Lachlan, Florida, was rocked last year when two bodies were uncovered in the roots of a fallen tree. Despite their lack of investigative experience, Sara Medlar; her niece, Kate; and Jack Wyatt found themselves at the center of the mystery, working together to reveal the truth behind a decades-old secret in the sleepy town. After a narrow escape, they vowed to never again involve themselves in something so dangerous--until Janet Beeson is murdered.

When Janet's body is discovered, everyone is shocked by the violence of the attack. The sweet little old woman has been shot, stabbed and poisoned, but no one can imagine who would want to harm one of the town's kindest, most helpful residents.

Sara, Kate and Jack are determined to leave this case to the professionals. But they are soon bombarded by townspeople eager to tell their stories and clear their names with the trio who solved the Morris murders. Even the sheriff is hoping they'll lend their skills to a crime that seems to have no explanation and no motive. And once the town gets talking, they begin to see that there are more secrets buried in quiet Lachlan than anyone could have imagined...

Author Notes

Jude Deveraux is the author of 25 New York Times bestsellers, including High Tide, The Blessing, An Angel for Emily, Legend, and The Duchess. She began writing in 1976, and to date there are more than 30 million copies of her books in print. Ms. Deveraux is currently at work on her next novel.

She lives in Connecticut.

(Publisher Provided) Jude Deveraux was born in Fairdale, Kentucky on September 20, 1947. She was a fifth-grade teacher in Santa Fe, New Mexico, when a publisher accepted her first book, The Enchanted Land (1978). Since then, she has written more than 35 romance novels including Lavender Morning, Return to Summerhouse, Secrets, Someone to Love, Wild Orchids, Holly, The Mulberry Tree, The Summerhouse, Temptation, A Knight in Shining Armor, and Remembrance. Deveraux 's series the Nantucket Brides Trilogy, made the New York Times Bestseller list in 2014 and 2015.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

In bestseller Deveraux's entertaining sequel to 2018's A Willing Murder, Kate Medlar is happier than she has ever been since moving in with her aunt, Sara Medlar, and her aunt's exlover's grandson, the incredibly handsome Jack Wyatt, in Lachlan, Fla. Though the trio recently solved a multiple murder, they're determined not to get involved in another case, even when Janet Beeson, a lonely widow, is found poisoned, stabbed, and shot in her home. This proves difficult when everyone in Lachlan, including the sheriff, insists on coming to them with new information. Soon, the trio will discover that the whole town knows more than they're saying, and Kate, Sara, and Jack are the only ones who can piece together all the stories. What they uncover is a conspiracy that runs deeper than they could have imagined, and involves everything from the local crochet competition to the apparent suicide of Janet's best friend. Kate and Jack's undeniable chemistry helps compensate for onedimensional characters and sometimes tedious subplots. Fans of Deveraux's romance novels will be particularly charmed. Agent: Robert Gottlieb, Trident Media. (Feb.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Library Journal Review

When Sheriff Daryl Flynn is called to -Janet Beeson's house, he suspects the elderly woman died of natural causes. But the corpse he finds has been shot, poisoned, and stabbed. He immediately calls Sara Medlar to photograph the scene, and she calls her partners in investigation, including niece Kate and Jack Wyatt, the grandson she never had. The "Medlar trio" looks over the crime scene, but vow they won't investigate a murder case again. Then half the population of Lachlan, FL, shows up at Sara's house to confess to killing Janet. Everyone has a story as to how they were cruel to the woman, who returned only kindness. Something sounds fishy. The story of a cold case, the kidnapping and return of an infant, adds to their curiosity. No matter how much they insist they won't get involved, the three are intrigued when a reporter and a retired police chief show up. This leisurely paced mystery allows plenty of time to introduce characters and for the sexual tension between Kate and Jack to rise. VERDICT Deveraux's second book doesn't quite live up to the promise of A Willing Murder. While the interactions among the primary team are still spirited, there are too many characters and the conclusion is rather implausible. [See Prepub Alert, 7/31/18.]-Lesa Holstine, -Evansville Vanderburgh P.L., IN © Copyright 2019. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.