Cover image for Miracle Creek : [a novel] / Angie Kim.
Title:
Miracle Creek : [a novel] / Angie Kim.
ISBN:
9780374156022
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Sarah Crichton Books/Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2019.
Physical Description:
355 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm
General Note:
Subtitle from jacket.
Abstract:
"A literary courtroom thriller about a mother accused of murdering her eight-year-old autistic son"-- Provided by publisher.

In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine-- a pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for therapeutic 'dives' with the hopes of curing issues like autism or infertility. When the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos' small community. The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night-- trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges-- as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice. -- adapted from jacket
Geographic Term:
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
KIM Book Adult General Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A thrilling debut novel for fans of Liane Moriarty and Celeste Ng about how far we'll go to protect our families--and our deepest secrets

My husband asked me to lie. Not a big lie. He probably didn't even consider it a lie, and neither did I, at first . . .

In rural Virginia, Young and Pak Yoo run an experimental medical treatment device known as the Miracle Submarine--a pressurized oxygen chamber that patients enter for therapeutic "dives" with the hopes of curing issues like autism or infertility. But when the Miracle Submarine mysteriously explodes, killing two people, a dramatic murder trial upends the Yoos' small community.

Who or what caused the explosion? Was it the mother of one of the patients, who claimed to be sick that day but was smoking down by the creek? Or was it Young and Pak themselves, hoping to cash in on a big insurance payment and send their daughter to college? The ensuing trial uncovers unimaginable secrets from that night--trysts in the woods, mysterious notes, child-abuse charges--as well as tense rivalries and alliances among a group of people driven to extraordinary degrees of desperation and sacrifice.

Angie Kim's Miracle Creek is a thoroughly contemporary take on the courtroom drama, drawing on the author's own life as a Korean immigrant, former trial lawyer, and mother of a real-life "submarine" patient. Both a compelling page-turner and an excavation of identity and the desire for connection, Miracle Creek is a brilliant, empathetic debut from an exciting new voice.


Author Notes

Angie Kim moved as a preteen from Seoul, South Korea, to the suburbs of Baltimore. She attended Stanford University and Harvard Law School, where she was an editor of the Harvard Law Review , then practiced as a trial lawyer at Williams & Connolly. Her stories have won the Glamour Essay Contest and the Wabash Prize in Fiction, and appeared in numerous publications including The New York Times , Salon , Slate , The Southern Review , Sycamore Review , The Asian American Literary Review , and PANK . Kim lives in northern Virginia with her husband and three sons. Miracle Creek is her debut novel.


Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

In Kim's stand-out, twisty debut, Young and Pak Yoo live in Miracle Creek, a small town in Virginia, with their daughter, Mary. After immigrating to Virginia from Seoul, they start the business that operates in the barn behind their home: hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT) sessions in a chamber designed like a submarine. But then the fatal explosion that kicks off this winning novel happens, leaving two people dead, Pak in a wheelchair, and Mary permanently scarred. One year later, the Yoos must testify in court against Elizabeth Ward, who's been accused of orchestrating the incident to kill her son, Henry, a child who'd been undergoing HBOT to treat his autism, and who died in the explosion. As the trial progresses, each person who'd been present that night must reckon with what really happened. There's a rich cast, among them Matt, a doctor who'd been using HBOT for his infertility and who'd had a not-completely innocent relationship with Mary, and Young, whose desperation to be a good wife and mother leaves her wanting as both. Kim, a former lawyer, clearly knows her stuff, and though the level of procedural detail is sometimes unwieldy, nonetheless what emerges is a masterfully plotted novel about the joys and pains of motherhood, the trick mirror nature of truth, and the unforgiving nature of justice. (Apr.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Library Journal Review

DEBUT Living in the fictitious town of Miracle Creek, VA, Pak and Young Yoo, and their teenage daughter, Mary, are fairly new immigrants to the United States. Pak, a certified hyperbolic technician, runs a business using hyperbaric oxygen therapy (HBOT) to treat conditions spanning from autism to infertility. When an accident occurs on-site, client Elizabeth Ward is suddenly charged with creating the fire and explosion that killed her autistic son and another client and injuring others. During the four-day trial, the secrets between the Yoos and their clients begin to emerge. In fact, everyone -participating seems to harbor a secret or two, and the stories that unfold are intriguing. First novelist Kim effectively uses her background as a trial lawyer, skillfully crafting her narrative by interweaving the stories of her characters, each of whom speak for themselves as the story progresses toward a surprise ending. VERDICT With touches of mystery, legal thriller, and character-driven storytelling, where nothing is ever quite as it seems, Kim's promising debut will certainly have readers looking forward to her next offering. [See Prepub Alert, 10/15/18.]-Shirley Quan, Orange Cty. P.L., Santa Ana, CA © Copyright 2019. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.