Cover image for The hunting party : a novel / Lucy Foley.
Title:
The hunting party : a novel / Lucy Foley.
ISBN:
9780062868909
Edition:
First U.S. edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2019.

©2019
Physical Description:
327 pages ; 24 cm
Abstract:
During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they've chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands--the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves. They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group's tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year's Eve, the cord holding them together snaps. On New Year's Day, one of them is dead, and another of them did it.
Subject Term:
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
FOL Book Adult General Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

AN INSTANT SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLER

NAMED ONE OF THE MOST ANTICIPATED THRILLERS OF THE WINTER BY:

Goodreads * BookBub * PopSugar * BookRiot * Crimereads * Pure Wow * Crime by the Book

ALL OF THEM ARE FRIENDS. ONE OF THEM IS A KILLER.

"A ripping, riveting murder mystery -- wily as Agatha Christie, charged with real menace, real depth. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware." - A.J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Woman in the Window

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they've chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands--the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group's tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year's Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now, on New Year's Day, one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

DON'T BE LEFT OUT. JOIN THE PARTY NOW.


Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

Historical novelist Foley (The Invitation) makes an auspicious thriller debut. Nine close friends, four of them couples, gather for their extravagant annual New Year's getaway-this time at Loch Corrin, a remote estate in the Scottish Highlands-a decade after most of them graduated from Oxford. Tensions, sexual and otherwise, first flare during the lengthy, alcohol-lubricated train trip from London on December 30, fanned by charismatic, capricious Miranda-the golden girl most men want to be with and more than a few women long to become. At the Loch Corrin station, they're met by Doug, the estate's odd, though hunky, gamekeeper; at Loch Corrin, they encounter unexpected additional guests: a pair of strange Icelandic backpackers. Things start to go seriously wrong with the arrival of a blizzard that will soon cut off the 50,000-acre spread from the outside world. And then one of them disappears. Foley spins her story skillfully through multiple narrators, and if she's less sure-handed with character, this still makes for a cracklingly suspenseful story for a long winter's night. Agent: Alexandria Machinist, ICM Partners. (Feb.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.