Cover image for Baby, you're gonna be mine : stories / Kevin Wilson.
Baby, you're gonna be mine : stories / Kevin Wilson.
Title Variants:
Baby, you are gonna be mine
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]
Physical Description:
269 pages ; 22 cm
Scroll through the weapons -- Housewarming -- Wildfire Johnny -- A visit -- A signal to the faithful -- Sanders for a night -- No joke, this is going to be painful -- Baby, you're gonna be mine -- The horror we made -- The lost baby.


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
WIL Book Adult General Collection

On Order



"Hands down my favorite book of the year." -- Ann Patchett

"Wildfire Johnny" is the story of a man who discovers a magic razor that allows him to travel back in time. "Scroll Through the Weapons" is about a couple taking care of their underfed and almost feral nieces and nephews. "Signal to the Faithful" follows a boy as he takes a tense road trip with his priest. And "Baby, You're Gonna Be Mine," the title story, is about a narcissistic rock star who moves back home during a rough patch. These stories all build on each other in strange and remarkable ways, showcasing Wilson's crackling wit and big heart.

Filled with imagination and humor, Baby, You're Gonna Be Mine is an exuberant collection of captivating and charmingly bizarre stories that promise to burrow their way into your heart and soul.

Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

In the world of Wilson's darkly funny short stories, children and deer die, and unhappy, helpless people drink and do irresponsible things. Wilson (Perfect Little World) shows people managing as best they can: trying to survive video game zombies when the rest of their life is too horrible to fix ("Scroll Through the Weapons"), helping selfish grown children because no one else would love them enough to do so ("Housewarming" and the title story), and coping with the horror of adolescence by making horror movies ("The Horror We Made"). "No Joke, This Is Going to Be Painful" involves pariahs ice fighting, but its title would work for virtually every story in the collection. The exception is the one weak link, "The Lost Baby," which taps into a pain so deep that neither humor nor the human ability to occasionally not be awful can redeem anything. The rest stick with the reader and show a terrible world made less so, sometimes, by human contact, even though humans were usually the problem in the first place. (Aug.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Library Journal Review

As evidenced by his debut novel, The Family Fang, and now this second affecting story collection, Wilson expertly limns fraught family relations and especially the trouble many adults have growing up. In the title story, a self-absorbed rock star quits music and moves home, then rejoins his band after a successful turnaround; what's heartening is not his smug delight but his mother's reaction at story's close as she watches a video of his singing: "But Gina knew what was in his heart. Her son." Similarly, in "Housewarming," a long-suffering father intervenes yet again to help a helpless adult son who can't control his emotions, this time dragging a dead deer from a pond near where the son and his wife live; the result is pitch perfect and absolutely wrenching. Elsewhere, a young man assists his girlfriend with the feral, neglected children of her sister, who's just stabbed her husband with a kebab skewer, and a teenage boy finds a magical razor that allows him to go back in time and redo bad days. Gruesomely, he's got to cut his throat with the razor for its magic to work, but he uses it repeatedly into adulthood to avoid truly reckoning with life. VERDICT Highly recommended. [See Prepub Alert, 2/26/18.] © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.