Cover image for The remaining / D.J. Molles.
The remaining / D.J. Molles.
First Orbit print edition.
Publication Information:
London : Orbit, 2014.

Physical Description:
405 pages ; 19 cm
General Note:
"Originally self-published by the author: January 2012."--Title page verso.


Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
MOL Paperback Adult Paperback Fiction
MOL Paperback Adult Paperback Fiction
MOL Paperback Adult Paperback Fiction
MOL Paperback Adult Paperback Fiction

On Order



The first volume in D.J. Molles's bestselling series, now in a special edition with the bonus novella The Remaining: Trust .
In a steel-and-lead encased bunker a Special Forces soldier waits on his final orders.

On the surface a bacterium has turned 90% of the population into hyper-aggressive predators.

Now Captain Lee Harden must leave the bunker and venture into the wasteland to rekindle a shattered America.
This is the first novel D.J. Molles's bestselling series:

Book 1: The Remaining
Book 2: The Remaining: Aftermath
Book 3: The Remaining: Refugees
Book 4: The Remaining: Fractured Book 5: The Remaining: Allegiance Book 6: The Remaining: Extinction

Novella 1: The Remaining: Trust
Novella 2: The Remaining: Faith

Author Notes

DJ Molles is the bestselling author of The Remaining series. The Remaining was originally self-published in 2012 and quickly became an internet bestseller. In 2014 his title, Fractured, made The New York Times Best Seller List.

> (Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

Anxiety and building desperation fuel this debut zombie thriller, the first in a series that already has a significant online fan base. Army Capt. Lee Harden is alone in an underground bunker, preparing to return to a world where the FURY virus has turned most of the population into homicidal cannibals. Sharply targeted sentences depict an acutely human action hero who wrestles his anxiety by packing and unpacking his gear, trying to find online porn in a post-Internet world, and playing with his dog. Amply trained and armed, Lee is nonetheless a nauseated shaking mess as he emerges with little understanding of what he's up against. With a handful of survivors, he embarks on a sweaty, frantic, bloody scramble across the surreally placid North Carolina countryside. Though this first installment is less a story than an establishment of scene and players, Molles's precise construction gives readers ample reason to return, as does the agonizing companion novella, which provides an unnerving view of what occurred while Lee was waiting to begin his mission. (May) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Library Journal Review

As one of 48 specially trained officers who are only activated in case of national catastrophe, army captain Lee Harden has a special mission. When he comes out of his sealed bunker to a world devastated by plague, he must fulfill his mission to protect what is left of America. This four-book series was a huge hit when the author self-published it in 2012, and those who crave a military take on a zombie-like outbreak will want to check it out. The other volumes will be released in upcoming months. (c) Copyright 2014. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.