Cover image for Click / by Kayla Miller.
Title:
Click / by Kayla Miller.
ISBN:
9781328911124
Publication Information:
Boston, Massachusetts : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, [2019]

©2019
Physical Description:
192 pages : chiefly colour illustrations ; 21 cm
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
MIL Graphic Novel Junior Graphic Novels
Searching...
1
Searching...
MIL Graphic Novel Junior Graphic Novels
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

For fans of Smile and Real Friends comes a debut graphic novel about friendship and finding where you "click" in middle school.

Olive wants to get in on the act . . .
. . . Any act!

Olive "clicks" with everyone in the fifth grade--until one day she doesn't. When a school variety show leaves Olive stranded without an act to join, she begins to panic, wondering why all her friends have already formed their own groups . . . without her. With the performance drawing closer by the minute, will Olive be able to find her own place in the show before the curtain comes up?
Author-illustrator Kayla Miller has woven together a heartfelt and insightful story about navigating friendships, leaning on family, and learning to take the stage in the most important role of all.


Author Notes

Kayla Miller is an illustrator and cartoonist with a BFA from the University of Arts in Philadelphia. She is the creator of Creep, a web comic series about a boy who gains weird superhero-like powers. Kayla regularly attends conventions to promote her work and meet other artists. tapastic.com/series/Creep


Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

Olive has lots of friends at school, but when Mr. Florez announces the fifth grade talent show, no one invites her to be part of an act. Feeling abandoned, Olive experiences an existential crisis about her place in the universe, complete with anxiety dreams, advice sessions with her aunt, and tense confrontations with her mother. She's confused about how to address her feelings of alienation without begging to be included, but eventually, she finds inspiration for her role in the show, as well as insight into how she fits in with her friends. Thick lines, pastel colors, and uncluttered panels help make the story easy and enjoyable to follow. In both the text and art, Miller's debut authentically conveys nuanced challenges and everyday moments of childhood, offering a guide for kids navigating friendship, family, and goals. Ages 10-12. (Jan.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.