Cover image for Game of stars / Sayantani DasGupta ; illustrations by Vivienne To.
Title:
Game of stars / Sayantani DasGupta ; illustrations by Vivienne To.
ISBN:
9781338185737
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Scholastic Press, 2019.

©2019
Physical Description:
358 pages : maps ; 22 cm.
Abstract:
Months after Kiranmala's adventure in the Kingdom Beyond, a vision of the Demon Queen starts showing up in her bedroom, trying to tell Kiran something, but getting cutoff before she can finish; then she starts seeing an advertisement for an archery contest on her family's interdimensional television and Kiran realizes that she must return to her place of birth--where society is falling apart, a reality show is taking over, her friends are in danger, and she, once again, becomes the warrior princess she was meant to be.
Added Author:
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
DAS Book Junior Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A new middle-grade fantasy series packed with action and adventure perfect for fans of Rick Riordan.

When the Demon Queen shows up in her bedroom, smelling of acid and surrounded by evil-looking bees, twelve-year-old Kiranmala is uninterested. After all, it's been four months since she last heard from her friends in the Kingdom Beyond, the alternate dimension where she was born as an Indian princess. But after a call to action over an interdimensional television station and a visit with some all-seeing birds, Kiran decides that she has to once again return to her homeland, where society is fraying, a reality show is taking over, and her friends are in danger.

However, things are a lot less clear than the last time she was in the Kingdom Beyond. Kiran must once again battle witches, solve riddles, and avoid her evil Serpent King father - all while figuring out who are her true friends, and what it really means to be a demon.


Author Notes

Sayantani DasGupta grew up hearing stories about brave princesses, bloodthirsty rakkhosh, and flying pakkhiraj horses. She is a pediatrician by training, but now teaches at Columbia University. When she's not writing or reading, Sayantani spends time watching cooking shows with her trilingual children and protecting her black Labrador retriever Khushi from the many things that scare him, including plastic bags. She is a team member of We Need Diverse Books, and can be found online at sayantanidasgupta.com and on Twitter at @sayantani16.