Cover image for A light on the hill / Connilyn Cossette.
Title:
A light on the hill / Connilyn Cossette.
ISBN:
9780764219863

9780764231483
Publication Information:
Minneapolis, Minnesota : Bethany House, a division of Baker Publishing Group, [2018]
Physical Description:
323 pages ; 22 cm.
Abstract:
Seven years ago, Moriyah was taken captive in Jericho and branded with the mark of the Canaanite gods. Now the Israelites are experiencing peace in their new land, but Moriyah has yet to find her own peace. Because of the shameful mark on her face, she hides behind her veil at all times and the disdain of the townspeople keeps her from socializing. And marriage prospects were out of the question ... until now. Her father has found someone to marry her, and she hopes to use her love of cooking to impress the man and his motherless sons. But when things go horribly wrong, Moriyah is forced to flee. Seeking safety at one of the newly-established Levitical cities of refuge, she is wildly unprepared for the dangers she will face, and the enemies--and unexpected allies--she will encounter on her way.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
COS Book Adult General Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Seven years ago, Moriyah was taken captive in Jericho and branded with the mark of the Canaanite gods. Now the Israelites are experiencing peace in their new land, but Moriyah has yet to find her own peace. Because of the shameful mark on her face, she hides behind her veil at all times and the disdain of the townspeople keeps her from socializing. And marriage prospects were out of the question . . . until now.

Her father has found someone to marry her, and she hopes to use her love of cooking to impress the man and his motherless sons. But when things go horribly wrong, Moriyah is forced to flee. Seeking safety at one of the newly-established Levitical cities of refuge, she is wildly unprepared for the dangers she will face, and the enemies--and unexpected allies--she will encounter on her way.


Author Notes

When she is not homeschooling her two sweet kids (with a full pot of coffee at hand), Connilyn Cossette is scribbling notes on spare paper, mumbling about her imaginary friends, and reading obscure, out-of-print history books. Although a Pacific Northwest native, she now lives in a little town near Dallas, Texas. She can be found online at www.connilyncossette.com.


Reviews 1

Library Journal Review

Captured and branded with the mark of the Canaanite gods in Jericho, Moriyah doesn't expect to marry owing to her shameful disfigurement. Her astonishment soon turns to dismay when it's revealed that her father has betrothed her to a widower with children for whom she is expected to care. The marriage goes awry, and Moriyah flees to the only place she feels is safe-one of the six Levitical cities of refuge. However, she is unprepared for the hardships and dangers along the way, making terrible enemies but also connecting with strong allies, who strengthen her in ways she could not have imagined. VERDICT Cossette ("Out from Egypt"trilogy) debuts a biblical series that revolves around the Old Testament's Levitical sanctuary cities, set against the backdrop of ancient Israel. Accessible and fluid character-driven storytelling creates a fascinating read that will appeal to fans of Jill Eileen Smith and Angela Hunt and those who prefer their biblical fiction less academic. © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.