Cover image for Evangeline of the bayou / by Jan Eldredge ; illustrations by Joseph Kuefler.
Title:
Evangeline of the bayou / by Jan Eldredge ; illustrations by Joseph Kuefler.
ISBN:
9780062680341
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Balzer + Bray, 2018.

©2018
Physical Description:
311 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm
Abstract:
Twelve-year-old haunt huntress apprentice Evangeline Clement spends her days and nights studying the ways of folk magic, honing her monster-hunting skills while pursuing local bayou banshees and Johnny revenants. With her animal familiar sure to make itself known any day now, the only thing left to do is prove to the council that she has heart. Then she will finally be declared a true haunt huntress, worthy to follow in the footsteps of her long line of female ancestors.
Audience/Reading Level:
Interest age level: 8-12.
Added Author:
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
ELD Book Junior Collection
Searching...
1
Searching...
ELD Book Junior Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A spooky, funny middle grade adventure with a sassy, memorable heroine and a charming Southern feel, perfect for fans of Kate DiCamillo, Kate Messner, and Natalie Lloyd.

Twelve-year-old haunt huntress apprentice Evangeline Clement spends her days and nights studying the ways of folk magic, honing her monster-hunting skills while pursuing local bayou banshees and Johnny revenants.

With her animal familiar sure to make itself known any day now, the only thing left to do is prove to the council she has heart. Then she will finally be declared a true haunt huntress, worthy of following in the footsteps of her long line of female ancestors.

But when Evangeline and her grandmother are called to New Orleans to resolve an unusual case, she uncovers a secret that will shake her to the soles of her silver-tipped alligator-skin boots.

Set in the evocative Louisiana bayou and the vibrant streets of New Orleans, Evangeline's is a tale of loyalty and determination, the powerful bonds of friendship and family, and the courage to trust your gut no matter how terrifying that might be.


Reviews 1

Horn Book Review

Evangeline Clement is a twelve-year-old aspiring haunt huntress, learning the family trade at her grandmothers house in a Louisiana bayou and eagerly awaiting the day she will find her own familiar and openly practice her skills. After a successful night of driving a banshee and shadow croucher out of a neighbors house (Eldredge provides a glossary for readers who have trouble remembering the difference between a cauchemar and a chupacabra), Evangeline returns home to learn that Gran has taken on a job dealing with a particularly troublesome magical creature infestation in New Orleans. Grans quarry is a werewolf-like rougarou with a particular grudge against their familyand Evangeline discovers that she may not have inherited haunt huntress powers after all. Eldredges fantasy world, based in Creole mythology, is vividly depicted and full of detail, and Evangeline has the perfect foil in Julian, a detail-oriented boy whose father summoned Gran to dispense the rougarou and whose precisely managed schedule is overthrown by Evangelines arrival. While some of the adult characters border on caricature, the rougarou is a thoroughly menacing villain that presents a real threat to Evangeline and to the broader community. Eldredge effectively balances Evangelines challenges in becoming a haunt huntress with the larger external conflict, presenting a satisfying coming-of-age story with bonus supernatural battles. sarah rettger (c) Copyright 2018. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.