Cover image for Summer of a thousand pies / Margaret Dilloway.
Title:
Summer of a thousand pies / Margaret Dilloway.
Title Variants:
Summer of 1000 pies
ISBN:
9780062803467
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2019]

©2019
Physical Description:
375 pages ; 22 cm
Abstract:
After her father goes to jail, Cady Bennett, twelve, is taken from foster care to spend a summer with her estranged Aunt Michelle, trying to save her failing pie shop.
Audience/Reading Level:
Interest age level: 8-12.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
DIL Book Junior Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A heartfelt contemporary middle grade novel about a girl who must try to save her aunt's failing pie shop, perfect for fans of The Thing About Jellyfish, Fish in a Tree--and The Great British Baking Show.

When Cady Bennett is sent to live with the aunt she didn't even know she had in the quaint mountain town of Julian, she isn't sure what to expect. Cady isn't used to stability, after growing up homeless in San Diego with her dad.

Now she's staying in her mother's old room, exploring the countryside filled with apple orchards and pie shops, making friends, and working in Aunt Shell's own pie shop--and soon, Cady starts to feel like she belongs.

Then she finds out that Aunt Shell's shop is failing. Saving the business and protecting the first place she's ever really felt safe will take everything she's learned and the help of all her new friends. But are there some things even the perfect pie just can't fix?

Summer of a Thousand Pies is a sweet and satisfying treat of a novel full of friendship, family, and, of course, pie.