Cover image for Believe in me / Ella Quinn.
Title:
Believe in me / Ella Quinn.
Author:
ISBN:
9781420145205
Publication Information:
New York, New York : Zebra Books, Kensington Publishing Corp., [2019]

©2019
Physical Description:
viii, 374 pages ; 18 cm
Abstract:
"Marriage has worked out quite nicely for her older sisters, yet Lady Augusta Vivers is certain it would end her studies in languages and geography, and stop her from travelling. But when her mother thwarts her plan to attend the only university in Europe that accepts women - in Italy - she is forced to agree to one London Season. Spending her time at parties proves an empty diversion - until she encounters the well-traveled Lord Phineas Carter-Wood. Still, Europe awaits. Phineas has studied architecture all over the world, yet Augusta is his most intriguing discovery yet. How can he resist a woman who loves maps and far-off lands? But her longing for all things foreign hinders any hope of courtship. When he learns her cousins have offered a trip to Europe, he secretly arranges to join their party. For he is determined to show Augusta that a real union is a thrilling adventure of its own. And when their journey is beset by dangerous obstacles, he gets far more opportunity than he bargained for."-- Publisher's description.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
QUI Paperback Adult Paperback Romance
Searching...
2
Searching...
QUI Paperback Adult Paperback Romance
Searching...
1
Searching...
QUI Paperback Adult Paperback Romance
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

Marriage has worked out quite nicely for her older sisters, yet Lady Augusta Vivers is certain it would end her studies in languages and geography, and stop her from travelling. But when her mother thwarts her plan to attend the only university in Europe that accepts women-in Italy-she is forced to agree to one London Season. Spending her time at parties proves an empty diversion-until she encounters the well-traveled Lord Phineas Carter-Wood. Still, Europe awaits . . . Phineas has studied architecture all over the world, yet Augusta is his most intriguing discovery yet. How can he resist a woman who loves maps and far-off lands? But her longing for all things foreign hinders any hope of courtship. When he learns her cousins have offered a trip to Europe, he secretly arranges to join their party. For he is determined to show Augusta that a real union is a thrilling adventure of its own. And when their journey is beset by dangerous obstacles, he gets far more opportunity than he bargained for . . . Praise for Ella Quinn's The Marquis and I "Romance builds in this satisfying, memorable read, perfect for fans of Grace Burrowes and Tessa Dare." -Booklist "A surprising Regency romance that combines intelligence and intrigue for satisfying results." -Kirkus Reviews "Full of payoffs for longtime readers while welcoming the new." -Publishers Weekly


Author Notes

Ella Quinn is the USA Today bestselling author of smart, spicy Regency romances, including The Worthingtons and The Marriage Game Series. Prior to writing romance, Ella Quinn was an adjunct professor, a lawyer, and the first woman to be assigned to a Green Beret unit. She is a member of Romance Writers of America and has extensively researched the Regency era, immersing her stories with the flavor and feel of the period so that readers lose themselves in the time. She and her husband currently live in Germany when they aren't cruising the world on their sailboat. Visit her online at ellaquinnauthor.com.


Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

In the largely unremarkable sixth Worthingtons Regency (after You Never Forget Your First Earl), Quinn tells the story of two people who must decide whether responsibilities and dreams can make room for love. Phinn and Augusta are forced by their families to attend London soirees in hopes of finding a marriage match. Phinn's family needs him to marry and produce the heir who will carry on the family name, but he wants to continue his travels around the world. Augusta's mother wants her to give up her dream of attending university in Italy and marry instead. They hit it off and Phinn proposes, but Augusta says no because he doesn't love her. Determined to convince her, Phinn follows her to her vacation in France, doing all he can to prove his love. The story lacks excitement, and Augusta's inability to realize that Phinn loves her is difficult to believe. However, the descriptions of European settings and the restrictions of Regency society add enough interest to entertain. This installment will mostly interest series fans. (Mar.) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.