Cover image for The wonder of lost causes : [a novel] / Nick Trout.
Title:
The wonder of lost causes : [a novel] / Nick Trout.
Author:
ISBN:
9780062884305
Edition:
First edition
Publication Information:
New York, N.Y. : William Morrow, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2019.
Physical Description:
440 pages ; 24 cm.
General Note:
Subtitle from jacket.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
TRO Book Adult General Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

"THE WONDER OF LOST CAUSES is equal parts heart wrenching and heartwarming as Trout pulls you onto an emotional rollercoaster that is sure to leave your heart filled to the brim. A true testament to the power of love in its purest and most absolute form."

-- Rachael Lippincott, New York Times bestselling author of Five Feet Apart

In this unforgettable novel, perfect for fans of An Unexpected Grace and A Dog's Way Home, a single mom and her chronically ill child receive a valuable lesson from an unlikely source--a very special dog who unexpectedly enters their lives and shows them that one person's lost cause can be another's greatest gift . . .Dr. Kate Blunt will do anything for her son, Jasper. Well, almost anything. Since Jasper has the incurable lung disease cystic fibrosis, Kate's always told him he couldn't get a dog. It's a tough call, but she's a single mom taking care of a kid who fights for every breath he takes. The daily medical routine that keeps Jasper alive is complicated enough. Worse still, Kate's personal resolve runs contrary to her work as the veterinarian in charge of a Cape Cod animal shelter, where she is on a mission to find forever homes for dogs in desperate need.

The scarred, mistreated wreck of a dog that turns up doesn't stand a chance. Named Whistler, he's too old, too ugly. But the dog forms an instantaneous bond with Jasper. Whistler never makes a sound, yet he speaks to Jasper in a myriad of mysterious ways. The clock's ticking, the dog's future hangs in the balance, and Jasper would do anything to find him a home; but Whistler has chosen them--for a reason.


Author Notes

Nick Trout graduated from veterinary school at the University of Cambridge in 1989. He is a Diplomate of the American and European Colleges of Veterinary Surgeons and is a staff surgeon at the prestigious Angell Animal Medical Center in Boston. He is the author of three non-fiction books, the New York Times bestseller, Tell Me Where It Hurts, Love is the Best Medicine, and Ever By My Side. His first novel, The Patron Saint of Lost Dogs became a Boston Globe bestseller and a bestseller in Australia. He writes the Second Opinion column for The Bark magazine and his latest book, Dog Gone, Back Soon, the second in the Bedside Manor series, was published by Hyperion, in 2014. Nick¿s writing has been translated into over a dozen languages and his books sell in more than thirty different countries around the world.

(Bowker Author Biography)