Cover image for Son of Hitler / story, Anthony Del Col & Geoff Moore ; art, Jeff McComsey ; letters, Jeff McClelland.
Title:
Son of Hitler / story, Anthony Del Col & Geoff Moore ; art, Jeff McComsey ; letters, Jeff McClelland.
ISBN:
9781534302242
Publication Information:
Portland, OR : Image Comics, 2018.

©2018
Physical Description:
1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations, maps ; 26 cm
General Note:
Chiefly illustrations.
Abstract:
What if someone told you your biological father was the most evil man alive? In the darkest days of World War II a female British spy handler discovers a rumor: that when Adolf Hitler was stationed in France during the First World War he fathered a child. Armed with stolen Nazi files, she secretly tracks down this son to recruit him for a mission to meet his biological father - and assassinate him. But that may not be the end of the Hitler family saga. A pulpy spy and alternative history thriller in the vein of Man in the High Castle, Zero Dark Thirty, Inglourious Basterds and the works of John Le Carre, this Image Comics graphic novel exploring one of the war's greatest legends is by acclaimed writer Anthony Del Col (Assassin's Creed, Kill Shakespeare), New York Times bestselling illustrator Jeff McComsey (FUBAR, Flutter) and newcomer Geoff Moore.
Audience/Reading Level:
Rated M / Mature.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
DEL Graphic Novel Adult Graphic Novels
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

What if someone told you your biologicalfather was the most evil manalive?

In the darkest days ofWorld War II a female British spy handler discovers a rumor: that when AdolfHitler was stationed in France during the First World War he fathered a child.Armed with stolen Nazi files, she secretly tracks down this son to recruit himfor a mission to meet his biological father - and assassinatehim.

But that may not be theend of the Hitler familysaga...

A pulpy spy andalternative history thriller in the vein of Man in the High Castle , Zero Dark Thirty , Inglourious Basterds and the works of John LeCarre, this Image Comics graphic novel exploring one of the war's greatestlegends is by acclaimed writer Anthony Del Col ( Assassin's Creed , KillShakespeare ), New York Times bestselling illustrator Jeff McComsey( FUBAR , Flutter ) and newcomer GeoffMoore.

A story so wild it couldonly be true...maybe...


AdvancePraise:

"Few war storiesare this fun." -NPR

"A damn good spy story,with echoes from the Second World War reverberate to the present with chillingand elegant efficiency. We need stories like this one, now more than everbefore." - Greg Rucka (writer of Queen & Country,Lazarus)

"[A]firecracker espionage tale... With its intricate elaboration of secret servicework and shocker of a last-act twist, this comic achieves the satisfyingweb-of-secrets allure that John le Carré and Len Deighton pull off inprose." - PublishersWeekly

"SON OF HITLERwill leave you speechless in the best way possible." -Geek.com


Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

In this firecracker espionage tale, set during the 1944 Allied invasion of Europe, British Special Operations agent Cora Brown maneuvers Pierre, the illegitimate son of Hitler, as a chess piece in an elaborate game to kill the führer. But with his explosive anger issues and a bloodthirsty drive for revenge, Pierre can't be controlled. The pair's encounters with spies, resistance fighters, and an evil surgeon lead to a breakneck chase and brutal fight in Hitler's bunker. Despite its sensational concept, this is a solid historical thriller. Del Col (Kill Shakespeare) and Moore generously pepper the plot with double (and triple) crosses. McComsey (Mother Russia) captures the period and its tension with expressive thick lines colored in dark, monochromatic shades and a consistent three-toned palette that distinctly separates the acts of the story. McComsey uses spot whites in his otherwise deeply shaded art to move the eye across the page, with symbolic, dramatic effect. With its intricate elaboration of secret service work and shocker of a last-act twist, this comic achieves the satisfying web-of-secrets allure that John le Carré and Len Deighton pull off in prose. (June) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.