Skip to:Content
|
Bottom
Cover image for Naomis too / by Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich & Audrey Vernick.
Title:
Naomis too / by Olugbemisola Rhuday-Perkovich & Audrey Vernick.
ISBN:
9780062685155
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
©2018

New York : BALZER + BRAY, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2018.
Physical Description:
308 pages ; 22 cm
Abstract:
Naomi E.'s dad is married to Naomi Marie's mom. The two girls have learned to do a lot of things together, while also dealing with the ups and downs of middle school.
Audience/Reading Level:
Interest age level: 8-12.
Added Author:
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
RHU Book Junior Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

A heartfelt, sweet, social justice-themed ode to blended and unconventional families--perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia, Lisa Graff, and Sara Pennypacker.



In this sequel to Two Naomis, now that Naomi Marie's mom and Naomi E.'s dad are married, the girls have learned to do a lot of things together, like All-Family Sunday dinners, sixth-grade homework, navigating the subway system by themselves, and visiting their favorite bakeries. Until sixth grade in a new school presents a whole new set of surprises and challenges.

Trusting her gut has worked for Naomi E. all her life, and she figures that it will be an asset to her role as a Peer Mediator--until she realizes how much of the job requires the Art of Compromise, which she's only just starting to get used to at home.

Naomi Marie is excited about making new friends--but she wants to keep old ones too. And when she sees that some in the school community have a hard time with the realities of "diversity in action," she wonders if the new members of her family can see those realities as well.

As the girls deal with the ups and downs of middle school and the mysteries of family dynamics, they learn that even when life and school try to drive you apart, it's ultimately easier to face everything together.


Reviews 1

Horn Book Review

Same old me; whole new world, reads Naomi Maries assigned six-word memoir. Schools hard, homes weird, lifes tricky, reads Naomi E.s. This sequel to Two Naomis (rev. 11/16) finds new stepsisters Naomi Marie (who is black) and Naomi E. (who is white) adjusting to their changing family dynamics; however, becoming one big interracial blended family while also starting at a new school brings unexpected challenges. At their nontraditional middle school in an ever-changing, gentrifying Brooklyn, Naomi Marie faces racism, of which Naomi E. seems to be blissfully unaware; meanwhile, Naomi E. is feeling pressure to be as academically successful as her stepsister, even as, at home, she must adjust to living with three new family members. While their parents had attempted to prepare them for problems with well-meaning blended family workshops, the Naomis must go beyond the theoretical to learn how to advocate for themselves and each other. Once again, the story unfolds through both Naomis points of view, in first-person alternating chapters. The characters navigate microaggressions and the challenges of allyship in an authentic manner of young people coming of age. The books Naomi Marie and her friends recommend to one another throughout the novelfrom York to Goodbye Stranger to Brown Girl Dreamingconstitute another worthy point of interest. eboni njoku January/February 2019 p 101(c) Copyright 2018. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Go to:Top of Page