Cover image for The hidden kingdom / by Tui T. Sutherland.
The hidden kingdom / by Tui T. Sutherland.

Publication Information:
New York, New York : Scholastic Press, c2013.
Physical Description:
296 pages : illustrations, map ; 22 cm.
The five dragonets of the prophecy are hoping to hide in safety in the RainWing kingdom, and Glory is hoping to learn more about her own identity, but when tribe members start disappearing and the old queen does nothing, it is up to Glory and her friends to uncover the lurking evil.


Library Branch
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
1 Bob Harkins Branch SUT Book Junior Collection
2 Bob Harkins Branch SUT Paperback Junior Fantasy / Sci-Fi
3 Bob Harkins Branch SUT Paperback Junior Fantasy / Sci-Fi
4 Bob Harkins Branch SUT Paperback Junior Fantasy / Sci-Fi

On Order



The Wings of Fire saga continues!

Deep in the rain forest, danger awaits . . . Glory knows the dragon world is wrong about her tribe. After all, she isn't "as lazy as a RainWing" - she isn't lazy at all! Maybe she wasn't meant to be one of the dragonets of destiny, as the older dragons constantly remind her, but Glory is sharp and her venom is deadly . . . except, of course, no one knows it.

When the dragonets seek shelter in the rainforest, Glory is devastated to find that the treetops are full of RainWings that no dragon could ever call dangerous. They nap all day and know nothing of the rest of Pyrrhia. Worst of all, they don't realize - or care - that RainWings are going missing from their beautiful forest. But Glory and the dragonets are determined to find the missing dragons, even if it drags the peaceful RainWing kingdom where they never wanted to be - in the middle of the war.

Author Notes

Tui T. Sutherland was born on July 31, 1978 in Caracas, Venezuela. She is a children's book author who has also written under the pen name Heather Williams. Her books include Kingdom of Twilight, Runaway Retriever, Bad to the Bone Boxer, Dragonet Prophecy, This Must Be Love, and The Menagerie. She has written several series including Pet Trouble, Wings of Fire, and Avatars.

(Bowker Author Biography)

Reviews 1

Horn Book Review

The peaceful rainforest seems like the perfect place for the five dragonets of destiny to hide. Though the RainWings are not at war with other kingdoms, the dragonets soon discover that RainWings are mysteriously disappearing. Fierce battles and menacing characters are tempered by humor and the appealing dragonets. A cliffhanger ending ensures more to come. A map and illustrated dragon guide are included. (c) Copyright 2014. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Google Preview