Cover image for Big Nate strikes again / Lincoln Peirce.
Title:
Big Nate strikes again / Lincoln Peirce.
ISBN:
9780062283580
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Harper, [2015]

©2010
Physical Description:
216 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm
Abstract:
Sixth-grader and self-proclaimed genius Nate Wright faces his all-time enemy, Gina, when they are paired to work on a research paper together and she also gets a position on his intramural team.
Audience/Reading Level:
Interest age level: 8-12.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library Branch
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
2 Bob Harkins Branch PEI Paperback Junior Paperback Fiction
Searching...
3 Bob Harkins Branch PEI Paperback Junior Paperback Fiction
Searching...
4 Bob Harkins Branch PEI Graphic Novel Junior Graphic Novels
Searching...
5 Bob Harkins Branch PEI Graphic Novel Junior Graphic Novels
Searching...

On Order

Library
Copy
Location
Parts
Nechako Branch1On Order

Summary

Summary

"Big Nate is funny, big time" --Jeff Kinney, author of Diary of a Wimpy Kid

For fans of Jeff Kinney and Raina Telgemeier, here comes the second novel in the New York Times bestselling Big Nate series.

BIG NATE will surpass all others!

But it won't be easy. He's stuck with Gina, his all-time enemy, in a class project for his least favorite teacher Mrs. Godfrey, aka Godzilla. To make matters worse, Gina ALSO ends up on his fleeceball team, right when Nate is set to win his first fleeceball championship ever. This is his moment for glory, but Gina's sure to steal his thunder, or ruin everything.

Will Nate win or lose? Pass or fail? Or end up in detention . . . AGAIN?

Meet BIG NATE, self-described genius and definitely NOT the teacher's pet in this comic-strip novel perfect for anyone who's ever been to middle school.


Author Notes

Lincoln Peirce was born in Iowa on October 23, 1963. He studied art at Colby College and the Skowhegan School of Painting and Sculpture. He taught art and coached baseball for three years at a New York high school. He is a cartoonist/writer and the creator of the comic strip Big Nate, which appears in more than 200 U.S. newspapers.

Lincoln's titles are fixtures on the bestseller lists. Big Nate Doodlepalooza and Big Nate: I Can't Take It! made The New York Times Best Seller List for 2013. Big Nate in the Zone and Big Nate: Great Minds Think Alike made The New York Times Best Seller List for 2014. His title, Big Nate's Greatest Hits, Big Nate Lives It Up and Big Nate - Say Good-Bye to Dork City made the list in 2015.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 1

Horn Book Review

Fans of Big Nate (rev. 7/10) will not be disappointed in the second book about Nate's continuing trials. Peirce gets all the details of a sixth-grade boy just right: the humiliation of first love and first hate, the monotony of school, the importance of sports, the relentlessness of bullies, and the goofiness of best friends. Nate is still smitten with the unattainable Jenny, but he also has a new woman in his life, grade-grubbing archnemesis Gina Hemphill-Toms. They are brought together by the fates and Mrs. Godfrey, who assigns them to be partners for a research paper about Ben Franklin. Gina worries that her A+ average is in jeopardy, and Nate worries that his fleeceball team might lose the Spoffy tournament or that he might die of embarrassment because Gina named the team the Kuddle Kittens. All this angst is tempered by Nate's talent for making hilarious lists and drawing comics. Though the final Ben Franklin presentation and fleeceball tournament come to a predictable end, readers learn that Gina is more than just a grade grubber and that Nate has some academic chops himself. Even the most jaded middle-schooler will find much to laugh about here. robin l. smith (c) Copyright 2010. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview