Cover image for The mystery of the spiteful letters / Enid Blyton.
Title:
The mystery of the spiteful letters / Enid Blyton.
Author:
ISBN:
9781444930801
Publication Information:
London : Hodder Children's Books, [2016]

©1943
Physical Description:
227 pages ; 20 cm
General Note:
Originally published: London: Methuen, 1943.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
BLY Paperback Junior Mystery Fiction
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

The Find-Outers is a clever mystery series from bestselling author Enid Blyton, and perfect for fans of The Secret Seven .

Someone is sending spiteful letters to the people of Peterswood - but who? Fatty, Larry, Pip, Daisy, Bets and Buster the Dog have to find the culprit who is making the villagers so unhappy. But Mr Goon is right on their heels to solve the mystery first!

First published in 1946, this edition contains the orginal text and is unillustrated.


Author Notes

Enid Blyton, 1897 - November 28, 1968 Enid Blyton was born in London in 1897. She was educated in a private school and thought that she would become a musician until she realized that writing was her passion. She attended Ipswich High School where she trained to become a kindergarten teacher and eventually opened her own school for infants.

Blyton's first poem was published in 1917, entitled "Have You-" which appeared in Nash's Magazine. In 1922, her first book of verses was published, entitled "Child Whispers." In 1926 she accepted a position editing the children's magazine "Sunny Stories" as well as writing the column "Teachers World." Blyton's first full length children's book was published din 1938 and was titled "The Secret Island." After working on the column for years, Blyton quit "Teachers World" in 1945 and also ended her stint as editor of "Sunny Stories" seven years later. In 1953 she started her own children's magazine called "The Edith Blyton Magazine" which featured stories about her characters and news on the clubs formed around them. Her most famous stories were those of the "Famous Five" The Magazine closed in 1959. In the 50's and 60's Blyton was criticized for the language in her book, for being to simple, but some 300 are still in print today. Blyton has published over 600 books in the course of her career.

Enid Blyton died in her sleep on November 28, 1968. She was 71 years old.