Cover image for The dragon's gate / Barry Wolverton.
Title:
The dragon's gate / Barry Wolverton.
ISBN:
9780062221940

9780062221933
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
New York, NY : Walden Pond Press, [2016]

©2016
Physical Description:
323 pages : maps ; 22 cm.
Audience/Reading Level:
Interest age level: 10 up.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library Branch
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1 Bob Harkins Branch WOL Paperback Junior Fantasy / Sci-Fi
Searching...
2 Bob Harkins Branch WOL Paperback Junior Fantasy / Sci-Fi
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic--this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized second book in acclaimed author Barry Wolverton's Chronicles of the Black Tulip, perfect for fans of The Glass Sentence and the Books of Beginning series.

A magical white jade stone and a map inscribed in bone that may be the key to an even greater mystery--this is the treasure Bren and Mouse have found buried on the Vanishing Island.

Mouse is determined to follow the map to a place called the Dragon's Gate, convinced it will explain who she really is and the powers she possesses. Bren has had enough adventure for one lifetime and would like nothing more than to return to his father in Map. But nothing goes according to plan when the survivors of the Albatross are rescued by Lady Jean Barrett, a charismatic archaeologist with a sense of destiny.

Barrett is on a quest for the Eight Immortals, ancient artifacts she believes are buried in the tomb of China's first emperor--the location of which has been hidden for nearly two thousand years. The only way for Bren, Mouse, and Barrett to all get what they want is to work together on a dangerous journey into the heart of China, a kingdom long closed to outsiders, where the greatest secrets about Mouse and Bren are waiting to be unveiled.


Reviews 1

Horn Book Review

Bren and his mysterious friend, Mouse, embark on a dangerous journey across Asia to find the Dragon's Gate and the magical objects created by the Eight Immortals. This alternate-1600s-set epic adventure uses multiple, intertwining narratives. Slow in places and dependent on familiarity with the world, this second book is best enjoyed immediately after The Vanishing Island; the ending stokes anticipation for the third volume. (c) Copyright 2017. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview