Skip to:Content
|
Bottom
Cover image for Josephine Baker's last dance : a novel / Sherry Jones.
Title:
Josephine Baker's last dance : a novel / Sherry Jones.
ISBN:
9781501102448
Edition:
First Gallery Books trade paperback edition.
Publication Information:
New York : Gallery Books, 2018.
Physical Description:
365 pages ; 21 cm
General Note:
Includes readers group guide.
Abstract:
"From the author of The Jewel of Medina, a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures. Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker--actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world--in Josephine Baker's Last Dance. In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones spans Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, to her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, to her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington,to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page. With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public figure intofocus for the first time in a joyous celebration of a life lived in technicolor, a powerful woman who continues to inspire today"-- Provided by publisher.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
JON Book Adult General Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

From the author of The Jewel of Medina , a moving and insightful novel based on the life of legendary performer and activist Josephine Baker, perfect for fans of The Paris Wife and Hidden Figures.

Discover the fascinating and singular life story of Josephine Baker--actress, singer, dancer, Civil Rights activist, member of the French Resistance during WWII, and a woman dedicated to erasing prejudice and creating a more equitable world--in Josephine Baker's Last Dance .

In this illuminating biographical novel, Sherry Jones brings to life Josephine's early years in servitude and poverty in America, her rise to fame as a showgirl in her famous banana skirt, her activism against discrimination, and her many loves and losses. From 1920s Paris to 1960s Washington, to her final, triumphant performance, one of the most extraordinary lives of the twentieth century comes to stunning life on the page.

With intimate prose and comprehensive research, Sherry Jones brings this remarkable and compelling public figure into focus for the first time in a joyous celebration of a life lived in technicolor, a powerful woman who continues to inspire today.


Reviews 1

Library Journal Review

This fictionalized biography of Josephine Baker (1906-75), told in the first person, adds plausible private reflections, inside motivations, and secret reactions to the well-known facts of her life. Always believing in herself despite the odds, Josephine rose above her heartbreaking childhood in St. Louis to find not only acceptance but adulation in Paris. She used her prominence, intelligence, and survival skills during World War II as an agent of the French Resistance and later to influence integration in the United States. A courageous woman always, Baker chose optimism over despair and action over passivity. Adenrele Ojo portrays via adroit modulation and pacing the pathos of the youthful woman as well as her determination to succeed. As Josephine matures, Ojo's pitch deepens to depict the self--confidence and sophistication of a woman in her prime. VERDICT Recommended for historical fiction fans and those with an interest in Baker.--Juleigh Muirhead Clark, -Williamsburg, VA © Copyright 2019. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Go to:Top of Page