Cover image for Lacks self-control : true stories I waited until my parents died to tell / Roy Sekoff.
Title:
Lacks self-control : true stories I waited until my parents died to tell / Roy Sekoff.
Author:
ISBN:
9780999892701

9780999892718
Edition:
First edition.
Publication Information:
Los Angeles, California : Big A Books, [2018]

℗♭2018
Physical Description:
191 pages ; 23 cm
Contents:
The story of these stories -- Dirty projectors -- scwl d©Œz -- The time Chevy Chase grabbed my balls -- The way of the crow -- The book-buying trip -- The Church of the High Colonic -- Oprah's tears -- The snakeman cometh -- "The McDonalds's of sex" -- Snoop's weed and Khlo©♭ Kardashian's vagina : doing the celebrity tango -- My psychic friends -- The big queasy -- My all-time Super Bowl record -- My mother's ashes -- Jewy Jewison and the Shabbat shiksa -- Keeper of the collection.
Abstract:
"'Although he's generally agreeable, Roy Sekoff lacks self-control.' Or so proclaimed his kindergarten teacher. Thus pigeonholed, Sekoff spent the next several decades proving her right, gathering many outrageous, sometimes raunchy, occasionally moving, always hilarious stories along the way. Told with zinging wit and zero propriety, Sekoff's collection of true tales showcases his caustic yet surprisingly sweet sense of humor."--Front flap.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1
Searching...
814.6 SEK Book Adult General Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

If David Sedaris, Chelsea Handler, Larry David, and Caitlin Moran had the unlikeliest orgy in history, the resulting love child might one day write a book like this rollicking collection of true tales from Roy Sekoff, the founding editor of the Huffington Post. Whether he's describing a teenage pilgrimage to a Times Square porn superstore, life-changing experiences with high colonics and psychic readings, an ill-fated attempt to make off with a tissue containing Oprah's tears, or that time Chevy Chase grabbed his balls at a funeral, Sekoff is a lively, irreverent raconteur whose sharp observations wring laughs out of a ludicrous-yet-relatable life.

Told with zinging wit and zero propriety, Lacks Self-Control is a testament to his unwavering commitment to overshare.


Reviews 2

New York Review of Books Review

A CARNIVAL OF LOSSES By Donald Hall. (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, $25.) Hall, who died on June 23, left behind a rich collection of poetry that earned him a National Medal of the Arts and a term as poet laureate of the United States. In his last memoir, he writes of life as he approached 90, with all its joys (like solitude or the ability to speak one's mind fully) and its losses (like the death of his wife, the poet Jane Kenyon), the battle for paradise By Naomi Klein. (Haymarket, paper, $9.95.) Hurricane Maria left more than destruction in its wake. There is now a brewing political conflict over how to rebuild Puerto Rico, the subject of Klein's investigation in this slim book. On one side are what she calls the "disaster capitalists" looking for a profit, and on the other, local communities, the william h. gass reader By William H. Gass. (Knopf, $40.) A doorstop that celebrates the life of the experimental writer, this collection brings together over 50 examples of Gass's work - essays, criticism, short stories and novels. All heady and mysterious, trans like me By CN Lester. (Seal Press, paper, $16.99.) A British transgender rights activist and singer-songwriter, Lester uses these witty essays to help undermine some persistent myths. For example, Lester finds a long history of the use of "they" to describe a person who doesn't fit into one gender or another, with examples dating to Shakespeare and Jane Austen, lacks self-control By Roy Sekoff. (Big A, $25.) Sekoff was the founding editor of The Huffington Post and here writes of a life of mischief and high jinks, from a teenage visit to a Times Square porn store to his attempt to nab a tissue containing Oprah's tears. "I have begun reading the POWER BROKER in a grand pursuit to be the type of person who reads 'The Power Broker.' Robert Caro's obsessively detailed, 1,336-page tome about Robert Moses and the power he wielded over New York City's infrastructure can pad out any Brian Lehrer episode or Metro investigation: There is no better foundation to learning about how our city came to be. Caro renders Moses as larger than life, then cuts him down to human size. His intellect is vast, his hubris ghastly and his gall has made me gasp aloud twice so far. ft's all 1 talk about at every party, brunch or summer jam; and, let · me tell you, my upper arms are stronger already." - JAZMINE HUGHES, EDITOR, THE NEW YORK TIMES MAGAZINE LABS, ON WHAT SHE'S READING.


Library Journal Review

Sekoff, founding editor of the Huffington Post, switches gears from reporting on others to talking about himself in compiled short stories about his life. With tales of when he was a fifth grader crushing on his teacher to a college student with an eccentric philosophy professor, Sekoff invites readers into his shocking, awkward, and sometimes raunchy past. Pieces covering his adolescence (he discusses his label of lacking self-control) lead to anecdotes from his work life (stealing Oprah's tears and Snoop Dogg smoking marijuana on HuffPost Live). The writing is witty, and Sekoff mixes in metaphors and inner dialog that add humor to every situation. Verdict Fans of Chelsea Handler and David Sedaris will want to read this book, which lives up to its subtitle about being inappropriate for Sekoff's parents. The author will likely find an audience in those who like over-the-top, crude humor; subtlety is not his strong suit. However, this book is filled with honest coming-of-age tales, and any reader will likely relate to at least one.-Natalie Browning, Longwood Univ. Lib., Farmville, VA © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.