Cover image for The lying game / by Sara Shepard.
Title:
The lying game / by Sara Shepard.
ISBN:
9780061869716
Edition:
1st pbk. ed.
Publication Information:
New York : HarperTeen, 2011.
Physical Description:
307, 14 p. ; 21 cm.
General Note:
Originally published in hardcover: New York : HarperTeen, 2010.
Abstract:
Seventeen-year-old Emma Paxton steps into the life of her long-lost twin Sutton to solve her murder, while Sutton looks on from her afterlife.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
2
Searching...
SHE Paperback Teen Collection
Searching...
1
Searching...
SHE Book Teen Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

New York Times bestselling series

The first book in the New York Times bestselling series The Lying Game, by author of the bestselling Pretty Little Liars series, Sara Shepard.

Shortly before her seventeenth birthday, Emma discovers she has a long-lost twin named Sutton Mercer. She contacts Sutton, who agrees to a rendezvous, but never shows up. Curious at first, Emma slips into Sutton's ultra-glamorous life, assuming her identity. When it becomes clear that Sutton is not coming back, that someone made sure she never could, Emma plunges in to investigate who could have wanted her sister gone (a fairly long list, she discovers). Unfortunately, taking over Sutton's life means innocent little Emma has inherited all that bad blood--and then some.



Perfect for fans of Sara Shepard's #1 New York Times bestselling series Pretty Little Liars, The Lying Game has all the juicy plot lines, to-die-for lifestyles, and compelling secrets that fans love.


Author Notes

Sara Shepard received an undergraduate degree from New York University and a MFA from Brooklyn College. The novels in her Pretty Little Liars series were inspired by her upbringing in Philadelphia's Main Line. Her other works include the Lying Game series, The Visibles (also titled All the Things We Didn't Say), and Everything We Ever Wanted. Pretty Little Liars and The Lying Game have been made into TV series.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 2

Publisher's Weekly Review

Those who get past the improbable premise of Shepard's (the Pretty Little Liars books) series debut will find a fun and fast-moving mystery. Foster kid Emma never knew she had an identical twin until she sees an online video of a girl named Sutton being choked by a masked figure. She tries to contact her, but a planned reunion goes awry when Sutton never shows up (readers know this is because she has been killed; Sutton narrates the book as a ghost, unable to communicate with Emma, but eager to "solve my own murder"). Kicked out of her foster home and mistaken for Sutton by Sutton's friends and family, Emma starts living her privileged life; the stakes rise dramatically when she learns her other half is dead. Clique lit fans will recognize the familiar mix of label-dropping and mean girl behavior, but the dark mystery adds a compelling layer. Readers may have a hard time buying the ease with which Emma slips into Sutton's very different life, but they will race through the pages as Emma pieces together clues and will have plenty to ponder as they anticipate the next installment. Ages 14-up. (Dec.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Horn Book Review

Sutton Mercer can't remember how she died. But she can watch her previously unknown twin Emma, who's been tricked--presumably by Sutton's murderer--into taking over Sutton's privileged life. Farfetched? Yes, but Pretty Little Liars series author Shepard handles the supernatural soap opera capably, with her now established, well-balanced mix of murder-mystery suspense and convincing boy, family, and friendship drama. (c) Copyright 2011. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.