Cover image for August and everything after / Jennifer Salvato Doktorski.
Title:
August and everything after / Jennifer Salvato Doktorski.
ISBN:
9781492657156
Publication Information:
Naperville, Illinois : Sourcebooks Fire, [2018]
Physical Description:
336 pages ; 21 cm
Abstract:
"Summer on the New Jersey shore offers Quinn a new start at life and love, but only if she can come to terms with her past"-- Provided by publisher.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library Branch
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1 Bob Harkins Branch DOK Paperback Teen Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

One last summer to escape, to find herself, to figure out what comes next. Fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han will love this contemporary, coming-of-age romance.

Graduation was supposed to be a relief. Except Quinn can't avoid the rumors that plagued her throughout high school or the barrage of well-intentioned questions about her college plans. How is she supposed to know what she wants to do for the next four years, let alone the rest of her life? And why does no one understand that it's hard for her to think about the future--or feel as if she even deserves one--when her best friend is dead?

Spending the summer with her aunt on the Jersey shore may just be the fresh start Quinn so desperately needs. And when she meets Malcolm, a musician with his own haunted past, she starts to believe in second chances. Can Quinn find love while finding herself?


Author Notes

JENNIFER SALVATO DOKTORSKI is the author of three YA novels and is a freelance nonfiction writer. Her first paid writing gig was at The North Jersey Herald & News, where she wrote obituaries and began her lifelong love of news and coffee. She lives in New Jersey with her family. Visit jendoktorski.com.


Reviews 1

Publisher's Weekly Review

Quinn and Malcolm are each grieving the loss of friends: narrator Quinn's best friend died in a car wreck that nearly killed her, and two of Malcolm's band members died in a bus accident. Both teens are also struggling with the aftermath of being close to death themselves; Quinn suffers from anxiety, and Malcolm turns to alcohol and drugs to escape. When Malcolm invites Quinn to play drums in his band, she finds the perfect summer distraction from her grief. Doktorski (The Summer After You and Me) fills her latest novel with music-Quinn playing the drums at band practice with Malcolm, recording an album, and playing live. The teens wrestle with their own darkness; Malcolm tries to conquer addiction, and Quinn tries to work through the guilt surrounding her best friend's accident and its consequences. This is a satisfying blend of family drama, romance, and music, staged in the aftermath of tragedy. Ages 14-up. Agent: Kerry Sparks, Levine Greenberg Rostan Literary Agency. (May) © Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.


Google Preview