Cover image for The heart of betrayal / Mary E. Pearson.
Title:
The heart of betrayal / Mary E. Pearson.
Author:
ISBN:
9781250080028
Edition:
First square fish edition
Publication Information:
New York : Henry Holt and Company, 2016.
Physical Description:
473 pages : illustrations, maps ; 21 cm.
General Note:
Map on endpapers.
Abstract:
Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Princess Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape--and even less of being together--as the foundations of Lia's deeply-held beliefs crumble beneath her while she wrestles with her upbringing, her gift, and her very sense of self to make powerful choices that affect her country, her people, and her own destiny.
Holds:
Copies:

Available:*

Copy
Library Branch
Call Number
Material Type
Home Location
Status
1 Bob Harkins Branch PEA Paperback Teen Collection
Searching...

On Order

Summary

Summary

The thrilling, New York Times -bestselling sequel to The Kiss of Deception

Held captive in the barbarian kingdom of Venda, Lia and Rafe have little chance of escape. Desperate to save her life, Lia's erstwhile assassin, Kaden, has told the Vendan Komizar that she has the gift, and the Komizar's interest in Lia is greater than anyone could have foreseen.

Meanwhile, nothing is straightforward: There's Rafe, who lied to Lia but has sacrificed his freedom to protect her; Kaden, who meant to assassinate her but has now saved her life; and the Vendans, whom Lia always believed to be barbarians. Now that she lives among them, however, she realizes that may be far from the truth. Wrestling with her upbringing, her gift, and her sense of self, Lia must make powerful choices that will affect her country . . . and her own destiny.

The Heart of Betrayal by Mary E. Pearson drives up the stakes and the romance, and will leave readers desperate to read book three in the Remnant Chronicles, The Beauty of Darkness .

" It's rare that the second book in a series is as good--or perhaps better--than the first, but that's the case here ." -- Booklist , starred review, for The Heart of Betrayal

" A heart-pounding sequel that fantasy fans will appreciate." -- School Library Journal for The Heart of Betrayal

" Fantastical ." -- USA Today for The Kiss of Deception

" A sumptuous fantasy ." -- Chicago Tribune for The Kiss of Deception

"In The Kiss of Deception , a new realm is masterfully created , featuring court intrigue, feuding nations, breathtaking landscapes, and the gift of sight. Fans of the Game of Thrones series will enjoy the magic and fantasy in this timeless dystopian world." -- VOYA for The Kiss of Deception

"Pearson (the Jenna Fox Chronicles) is off to an extraordinary start with her fantasy series, the Remnant Chronicles, creating an alluring world and romance that's ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore and Megan Whalen Turner." --Publishers Weekly for The Kiss of Deception


Author Notes

Award-winning young adult author, Mary E. Pearson, was born in 1955 in Southern California. She earned a BFA from Long Beach State University in art and received her teaching credentials from San Diego State University.

Mary's books include David v. God, Scribbler of Dreams, A Room on Lorelei Street, which won the 2006 Golden Kite Award for fiction, The Adoration of Jenna Fox, which was a finalist for the Andre Norton Award, The Miles Between, The Fox Inheritance, and Fox Forever. She is also the author of The Remnant Chronicles, which includes the books: The Kiss of Deception and The Heart of Betrayal.

(Bowker Author Biography)


Reviews 1

Horn Book Review

The Kiss of Deception (rev. 9/14) ended with the unmasking of the prince and the assassin, both of whom, despite themselves, fell in love with Princess Lia of Morrighan. Now the fates of all three are in the hands of an iron-fisted ruler known as the Komizar of Venda. Seeing Lia as a pawn, he proposes a marriage of convenience to bolster his public image. Kaden, the assassin who kidnapped her and brought her to the Komizar, tries nevertheless to keep her safe; Rafe, prince of Dalbreck (whose true identity is unknown to the other two) remains a captive of the Komizar. Deception and betrayal notwithstanding, Lias heart belongs to Rafe, and the two conspire to escape before the dreaded marriage can be finalized. Once again, Pearson uses shifting viewpoints to heighten suspense and track events in multiple settings. The bigger picture of the world-building begins to come into sharper focus in this volume -- that is, the relationship between the kingdoms of Venda, Dalbreck, and Morrighan -- pointing toward a climax that promises to fuse the political with the personal, resolving the fates not only of all these players but also of their respective kingdoms. If Pearson can sustain the romance, mystery, and suspense, then the Remnant Chronicles will stand strong among great fantasy series. jonathan hunt (c) Copyright 2015. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.


Google Preview